Mysuru previously known as Mysore, is the third largest city in the state of Karnataka, India, which served as the capital city of Mysore Princely Kingdom (Kingdom of Mysore) for nearly six centuries, from 1399 until 1947. Located at the base of the Chamundi Hills about 146 km (91 mi) southwest of the state capital Bangalore, it is spread across an area of 128.42 km2 (50 sq mi). According to the provisional results of the 2011 national census of India, the population of Mysore is 887,446. Mysore City Corporation is responsible for the civic administration of the city, which is also the headquarters of the Mysore district and the Mysore division. Mysore is the second cleanest city in India.

The Kingdom of Mysore was ruled by the Wodeyar dynasty, except for a brief period in the late 18th century when Hyder Ali and Tipu Sultan were in power. Patrons of art and culture, the Wodeyars contributed significantly to the cultural growth of the city. The cultural ambience and achievements of Mysore earned it the sobriquet Cultural capital of South Karnataka. Mysore is noted for its palaces, including the Mysore Palace, and for the festivities that take place during the Dasara festival when the city receives a large number of tourists. It lends its name to the Mysore style of painting, the sweet dish Mysore Pak, the Mysore Peta (a traditional silk turban) and the garment known as the Mysore silk saree. Tourism is the major industry, while information technology has emerged as a major employer alongside the traditional industries. Mysore depends mainly on rail and bus transport for inter-city connections. It also has an Airport serving the city, also known as Mandakalli Airport. The city was the location of the first private radio station in India. Mysore houses Mysore University, which has produced several notable authors, particularly in the field of Kannada literature. Cricket is the most popular sport in the city; however, it has many other sport facilities.

Coordinates: 12.26ºN 76.6ºE 12.26ºN 76.6ºE
Country India
State Karnataka
Division Mysore
District Mysore
 • Type Mayor–Council
 • Mayor Lingappa R[1]
 • Deputy Mayor Mahadevamma
 • Total 132 km2 (50.12 sq mi)
Elevation 763 m (2,503 ft)
Population (2011)
 • Total 9,90,900
 • Rank 53
 • Density 7,500/km2 (20,000/sq mi)
 • Demonym Mysorean, Mysoorinavaru, Mysuriga, Mysurigaru
Time zone IST (UTC+05:30)
Postal index number 570 0xx
Vehicle registration KA 09, KA 55
Telephone 91-(0)821-XXX-XXXX
Official language Kannada
Spoken languages Kannada